724. WE-Heraeus-Seminar 2021 – Application Deadline Extended to 7th May 2021

Collective Effects and Non‐Equilibrium Quantum Dynamics 27th June – 30th June 2021.

Applications Extended!

Closing Date: 7th May 2021

Applications: Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation website: 724. WE-Heraeus-Seminar

Collective, non-linear dynamics and spontaneous self-organization are abundant in nature, sciences and technology. These processes are found in biology and chemistry, in non-linear optics and condensed matter physics, and across both the classical and the quantum regime. The understanding of such dynamics is important for fundamental sciences, where the non-equilibrium quantum dynamics is a major quest from a fundamental point of view, and for quantum technologies, with the demand for complex systems with robust quantum coherent dynamics.

A promising and versatile platform to study these processes in a highly controlled way is the collective interaction of light with laser-cooled cold or quantum-degenerate matter. This experimental setting explores the innovative control of matter through optomechanical effects, identifying novel quantum phases, investigating light transport in strongly scattering and disordered systems. Additionally, it is advancing our knowledge of long-range coupled systems in the presence of noise and driving fields.

This seminar focuses on collective effects and non-equilibrium quantum dynamics in systems with matter-light interaction. In addition to self-organization of matter in classical and quantized light fields, collective scattering involving coupled dipoles and finite-range interactions, via complex multi-mode light fields or via Rydberg atoms will be central topics in the workshop.

The seminar will most likely be an online event via meetanyway and the video conference tool Zoom.

The full details of the workshop and are on the Wilhelm and Else Heraeus Foundation website: 724. WE-Heraeus-Seminar

Invited speakers

Nir Davidson, Weizman Institute of Science
Davide Dreon, ETH Zurich
Michael Drewsen, Aarhus University
Igor Ferrier-Barbut, Laboratoire Charles Fabry Institut d’Optique
Sonja Franke-Arnold, University of Glasgow
Robin Kaiser, University of Nice
Peter Kirton, University of Strathclyde
Corinna Kollath, University of Bonn
Igor Lesanovsky, University of Tuebingen
Benjamin Lev, Stanford University
Ehud Meron, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Giovanna Morigi, University of Saarland
Andreas Nunnenkamp, University of Cambridge
Helmut Ritsch, University of Innsbruck
Gordon Robb, University of Strathclyde
Monika Schleier-Smith, Stanford University
Oliver Steinbock, Florida State University
Oded Zilberberg, ETH Zurich


The seminar will most likely be an online event via meetanyway and the video conference tool Zoom.

Scientific Organisers

Dr. Tobias Donner, ETH Zürich • Prof. Dr. Thorsten Ackemann, U of Strathclyde • Prof. Dr. Sebastian Slama, U Tübingen