Winterschool 2019


Collective effects, structured light and quantum matter

4th-8th March 2019, Herrsching, Munich, Germany

Event Summary

This event is a residential school for young researchers (Pre doctoral, or early post doc) working in the areas of cold atoms, collective phenomena and quantum optics. The Winterschool venue is the Haus der Bayerischen Landwirtschaft Herrsching  am Ammersee near Munich.

This school aims to expose young researchers to the experimental and theoretical world of modern light-matter interaction, with an emphasis on collective effects, structured light, and quantum matter. Leading experts from around the world will provide lectures with a balanced mixture of introductory and current research topics. Additional talks will be given from speakers who have developed careers within industry. The best poster abstracts will be selected to give oral presentations.

Confirmed speakers and topics:

  • Andrew Forbes  (University of  Witwatersrand and Johannesberg):
    Manipulating Structured Light
  • Tilmann Esslinger (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology-Zürich):
    Building quantum systems from scratch: supersolids and more
  • Susanne Yelin (University of Connecticut, Harvard University):
    Controlling light and matter using cooperative radiadiaton
  • Francesco Piazza (Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems Dresden): Quantum Nonlinear Optics
  • Peter Barker (University College London): Levitated quantum optomechanics with nanoparticles

Young Scientist speakers:

  • Monika Aidelsburger (LMU Munich, MPI Quantum Optics): Artificial gauge fields with ultracold atoms in optical lattices
  • Alexandra Sheremet (Institut Langevin, ESPCI, Paris): Collective light-matter interactions

Career speakers:

  • Andreas Aumann (BMW): From a PHD in AMO physics to a career in automotive management
  • Juergen Stuhler (Toptica Photonics): Careers in industrial laser development and quantum technologies

If have any questions on the event, please contact

Organising Committee

Thorsten Ackemann/Gordon Robb (USTRAT, chair), Tobias Donner (ETHZ), William Guerin/ Robin Kaiser (CNRS) and Christoph Raab (TOPTICA), Francesco Rosati (ESR USAAR), Valeria Bobkova (ESR UMUEN), Nicola McRobbie (USTRAT), Valeria Bobkova (ESR UMUEN), Antonello Matteo (ESRTOPTICA) plus support from Eric Bourguignon (TOPTICA)



EPS Young Minds logo



Image result for IOP