Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou, and Donna Strickland Awarded 2018 Nobel Prize in Physics

Lasers and optical physics are back in focus after the 2018 Nobel Prize for Physics was awarded to Arthur Ashkin, Gérard Mourou, and Donna Strickland. The prize was awarded for work with lasers,  and optical tweezers.

Special congratulations and thanks from ColOpt to Arthur Ashkin as his pioneering work is on optomechanical forces and optomechanical trapping is central for our research interest.

For full details of the prize follow the links: Nobel Prize 2018 and the work are in the APS article: Focus: Nobel Prize—Lasers as Tools